The Curio Collector’s Cabinet: Zara Collins

Zara Collins

At the moment the wonderful work of Zara Collins has filled our cabinet! We asked her a few questions to find out more about her work..

Where do you get your inspiration?

Inspiration can come from the most surprising places! I have a long held fascination and interest in Asian culture, history, tradition and aesthetic – this underpins my art practise. But I can also be inspired by pattern, texture, discarded ‘everyday’ objects and the desire to learn and play with new materials and techniques.

For example my Orphrey Poison Bottles shape was originally cast from the ‘squeaky toy voice box’ inside my dog’s toy bone. The shape reminded me of Chinese snuff bottles and Victorian vessels for perfume which I was researching at the time.

How do you translate the ideas you have into the jewellery/objects you
make?
I sometimes feel like I have too many ideas going at once and not enough time in the studio to bring them to fruition. But I am sure many artists feel the same way! In my exhibition work I enjoy researching my topic of interest and produce very loose sketches of my ideas. With my production work I tend to dive straight into the making process. Ceramics is such an immediate, tactile material you are intuitively aware of the possibilities in regard to your ideas.

What attracts you to making jewellery/objects and what about it excites you?
To be absolutely honest I enjoy wearing jewellery! In the beginning I liked wearing the pieces I had made and to my surprise other people liked them too. There is a real thrill in seeing your work on a total stranger!

What draws you to ceramics in particular?
After years of working with very hard materials like glass, silver, resins, brass and Perspex; ceramics was a revelation. Ceramics is tactile, sensual, messy and expressive. In many aspects quite a forgiving material and I have so much to learn!

Where did you gain your skills?
I studied Visual Arts for a year at TAFE in Adelaide and Film Studies for a year in Sydney before I completed a Bachelor of Visual Arts (Glass) at Sydney College of the Arts. Fellow students, friends and colleagues have been very generous teaching me jewellery making skills and tricks along the way, in particular Kat Freene, Kath Inglis and Sue Lorraine who I worked with at the Jam Factory Metal Studio in Adelaide for nine months. My partner is a Visual Arts teacher and artist and he has been an amazing mentor regarding working with ceramics.

How does your production range relate to your exhibition work? How do they
influence one another?
My exhibition work and production work are loosely related but quite separate. The exhibition work is the driving force in my practice at present, but it hasn’t always been this way. It’s like a see-saw in the studio; there are periods where production work is my predominant focus and times where exhibition development is essential.

What is your studio environment like?
At the moment I am working from home in a state of flux! I am about to move my studio to the Illawarra and divide my time between Sydney and the coast. I am really excited about the change of environment and space. I have two kilns, a printing press and a lathe that I have never set up in the one place. Much of the equipment was left to me by my late grandfather and I am eager to set up my studio spaces and develop artworks without a deadline!

What does the future hold for you?
To be honest the last two years have been incredibly busy with my own work and a travelling curatorial project. So the plan is to have no plan! I just want enjoy my new studio space, play with the printing press and slowly develop new jewellery combining ceramics and metal for a future solo exhibition. In 2015 I plan to do an artist-in-residency in Adelaide and travel to Japan.

You can view more of Zara Collins work at her website:  http://zaracollins.com 

This entry was posted in Sterling, The Curio Collectors Cabinet and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment